link to original post

As the FIFA Women’s World Cup gets under way, the US Women’s National Soccer Team is, without a doubt, the team to watch. They’re the defending champions (relive their exhilarating 2015 victory here) and the top-ranked squad in the world, making them the favorites to take home the title again. They’ve moved on to the quarterfinals as the top-ranked team in the tournament and are set to face France on Friday, June 28, at 3 p.m. Eastern/12 p.m. Pacific.

What else is going on around the tournament? Japan, who beat the US in the 2011 World Cup Final but lost to them big-time in 2015, has moved on as well, and will be looking for redemption. The No. 2 ranked team, Germany, is heading to the next round as well. They haven’t won since 2007 and are hungry for the prize. And France, the hosts, have home-field advantage and beat the US 3-1 in a January friendly. Here are more fascinating storylines to watch, straight from ESPN soccer analyst and USWNT legend Julie Foudy, plus the top 25 players to watch.

Here are the kickoff times for the US’s group play matches, because you’re not gonna want to miss a minute.

US Women’s National Soccer Team World Cup Schedule

  • Tuesday, June 11, 3 p.m. Eastern/12 p.m. Pacific: US vs. Thailand. The US won in record-breaking fashion, 13-0.
  • Sunday, June 16, 12 p.m. Eastern/9 a.m. Pacific: US vs. Chile. The US won 3-0.
  • Thursday, June 20, 3 p.m. Eastern/12 p.m. Pacific: US vs. Sweden. The US won 2-0, taking first place in their group.
  • Monday, June 24, 12 p.m. Eastern/9 a.m. Pacific: US vs. Spain. The US won 2-1 thanks to two penalty kicks from captain Megan Rapinoe.
  • Friday, June 28, 3 p.m. Eastern/9 a.m. Pacific: US vs. France. This is the highly-anticipated quarterfinal matchup that many have been waiting for. France is ranked No. 4 in the world!

All the games will be broadcast on FOX and streamed on its website and mobile app if you have a cable subscription. Other streaming options all include subscription fees, of which SlingTV ($15 for the first month, then $25 per month) is the cheapest, but you can also choose from FuboTV, Hulu with Live TV, PlayStation Vue, DirecTV Now, and YouTube TV.

After group play concluded, the top 16 teams advanced to the knockout round. Just want to know about the big game? The final will be played Sunday, July 7 at 11 a.m. Eastern/8 a.m. Pacific. Stay tuned.

Image Source: Getty / Zhizhao Wu / Contributor

Comments

comments

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here